List of National Public Holidays In Nigeria for 2016

2016 is here again with a lot of expectations and resolutions from individual business personnel, private and multinationals striving to meet up or achieve set goals, though this doesn’t come without inputs from the human resource department.

During this period, everyone looks forward to every possible national public holiday be it states or Federal govt approved. Some go to the extent of planning their leaves in such ways and manner that would coincide with the public holiday.

Please note that it is customary in Nigeria to give extra holiday for any public holiday that falls into the weekend.

See list of National Public Holidays In Nigeria for 2016

Date Weekday Holiday name Holiday type
Jan 1 Friday New Year’s Day Public Holiday
Mar 8 Tuesday Women’s Day Observance
Mar 20 Sunday March equinox Season
Mar 25 Friday Good Friday Public Holiday
Mar 26 Saturday Holy Saturday Observance, Christian
Mar 27 Sunday Easter Day Observance, Christian
Mar 28 Monday Easter Monday Public Holiday
May 1 Sunday Workers’ Day Public Holiday
May 27 Friday Children’s Day Observance
May 29 Sunday Democracy Day Public Holiday
Jun 12 Sunday June 12 Commemoration Local holiday
Jun 20 Monday June Solstice Season
Jul 7 Thursday Id el Fitr Public Holiday
Jul 8 Friday Id el Fitr additional holiday Public Holiday
Sep 13 Tuesday Id el Kabir Public Holiday
Sep 14 Wednesday Id el Kabir additional holiday Public Holiday
Sep 22 Thursday September equinox Season
Oct 1 Saturday National Day Public Holiday
Oct 3 Monday Al-Hijra (Islamic New Year) Local holiday
Dec 12 Monday Id el Maulud Public Holiday
Dec 21 Wednesday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Saturday Christmas Eve Observance, Christian
Dec 25 Sunday Christmas Day Public Holiday
Dec 26 Monday Boxing Day Public Holiday
Dec 31 Saturday New Year’s Eve Observance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *